All AppsNeuron Trainer HealthNeuron Trainer TradesNeuron Trainer TechNeuron Trainer NextNeuron Trainer MotionStudy GuidesTechnologyRoadmapPricingReviewsAboutFAQFor OrganizationsSupportGet the Apps →
Free VTNE practice · Health

VTNE practice test: free questions across nine of the ten domains AAVSB publishes

The VTNE is a three-hour exam of 170 multiple-choice questions. Only 150 are scored; the other 20 are pilot questions used to build future examinations and do not count. AAVSB publishes a content outline dividing those 150 scored items across ten domains, but its public pages do not state a passing score.

Formally the Veterinary Technician National Examination. Awarding body: American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Neuron Trainer is an independent study app and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by the organization that owns this exam.

VTNE at a glance, with the source for every line

Every row below is quoted from a document published by AAVSB and carries the date we checked it. Where AAVSB publishes nothing, the row says so instead of quoting a number from somewhere else.

Questions
170 multiple-choice questions.Source: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
Scored questions
Your score is based on the 150 scored items.Source: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
Pilot questions
The additional 20 pilot questions embedded in the test are used for constructing future examinations and do not count toward your final score.Source: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
What is on it
Ten domains. Animal care and nursing is the largest at 30 of the 150 scored items (20%); communication and veterinary professional support services is the smallest at 7 items (5%).Source: AAVSB, 2023 VTNE Content Outline (approved by the AAVSB Board of Directors, March 2023), verified 12 August 2026
Time limit
Three hours.Source: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
Passing score
Not published by AAVSB. AAVSB’s public VTNE pages state the exam length, the split between scored and pilot items and a ten-domain content outline, but do not state a passing score. The VTNE Candidate Information Handbook is where to confirm current scoring, fees and eligibility.Checked against: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
Exam fee
Not published by AAVSB. AAVSB’s page for scheduling and taking the VTNE does not state the examination fee as an amount.Checked against: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026
How long it is valid
Not published by AAVSB. AAVSB’s page for scheduling and taking the VTNE does not state how long a passing VTNE result stays valid or set a renewal period. Credentialing terms are set by the state board that grants the credential.Checked against: AAVSB, Scheduling and Taking the VTNE, verified 7 August 2026

Always verify: the format and item split come from AAVSB’s own VTNE pages, the ten-domain weighting from AAVSB’s published content outline, each checked on the date shown beside it. Eligibility, fees, testing windows and scoring live in the VTNE Candidate Information Handbook, and your state board sets credentialing rules on top of all of it. Confirm both before you apply.

What AAVSB publishes as the official VTNE blueprint

These weights are AAVSB's, quoted from the source below. They are the only weights on this page that describe the real exam.

Published by AAVSB and verified on 12 August 2026.
AreaWeight AAVSB publishes
1. Pharmacy and Pharmacology20 items (13%)
2. Surgical Nursing20 items (13%)
3. Dentistry10 items (7%)
4. Laboratory Procedures14 items (9%)
5. Animal Care and Nursing30 items (20%)
6. Diagnostic Imaging9 items (6%)
7. Anesthesia20 items (13%)
8. Emergency Medicine/Critical Care10 items (7%)
9. Pain Management/Analgesia10 items (7%)
10. Communication and Veterinary Professional Support Services7 items (5%)
Total150 items (100%)

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Source: AAVSB, 2023 VTNE Content Outline (approved by the AAVSB Board of Directors, March 2023), verified 12 August 2026.

What our VTNE question bank covers

What this app's question bank covers — our own category shares across 656 questions, not AAVSB's published blueprint.
CategoryQuestions in our bankShare of our bank
Pharmacy and Pharmacology
Dosage, fluid-rate and CRI calculations, drug classes, dispensing, controlled-drug logs
7211%
Surgical Nursing
Aseptic technique, sterile and circulating roles, instrument care, sterilization methods
7211%
Dentistry
COHAT, scaling and polishing, dental radiographs, oral anatomy and pathology
467%
Laboratory Procedures
Hematology, chemistry, urinalysis, cytology, parasitology, microbiology, sample handling
7811.9%
Animal Care and Nursing
Patient assessment, catheterization, wound care and bandaging, restraint, medication routes
9614.6%
Diagnostic Imaging
Radiographic positioning and technique, image quality, ultrasound, radiation safety
527.9%
Anesthesia
Pre-anesthetic assessment, induction, intubation, maintenance, monitoring, recovery
8412.8%
Emergency Medicine/Critical Care
Triage, shock, CPR, blood loss control, fluid resuscitation, oxygen therapy, toxicity
8412.8%
Pain Management/Analgesia
Recognizing pain, pain scoring, multimodal analgesia, pain management plans
7211%

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Try it

4 questions from our VTNE bank

Four questions from our VTNE bank, covering animal care and nursing, emergency medicine and critical care, pharmacology and anesthesia. Each shows its explanation as soon as you answer.

VTNE · Free practice Every answer explained. No signup, no email wall.
  1. Question 1 of 4

    A veterinary technician is placing a routine peripheral intravenous catheter in a stable adult cat for pre-anesthetic fluid administration. Which vein is the first choice for this routine catheter placement?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: Cephalic vein

    The cephalic vein on the dorsal forelimb is the standard first choice for routine peripheral IV catheterization in cats and dogs because it is easy to visualize, restrain, and bandage securely. The femoral vein is deep and better suited to blood collection or emergency access, the jugular vein is reserved for central lines or when peripheral access is unavailable, and the lateral saphenous vein is a secondary peripheral option used when the cephalic vein cannot be used.

  2. Question 2 of 4

    A dog in hypovolemic shock has a serum albumin of 1.4 g/dL secondary to protein-losing enteropathy. Along with balanced crystalloids, which fluid choice would MOST appropriately address this patient's oncotic pressure deficit?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: Hetastarch (synthetic colloid) or fresh frozen plasma

    Synthetic colloids or plasma products exert oncotic pressure that helps retain fluid within the vasculature, directly addressing the deficit caused by severe hypoalbuminemia; plasma has the added benefit of supplying clotting factors and actual albumin. Crystalloids such as 0.9% NaCl and lactated Ringer's redistribute rapidly into the interstitium and provide no meaningful oncotic support, worsening edema in a hypoproteinemic patient. 5% dextrose in water is essentially free water once metabolized and provides no volume expansion or oncotic benefit, risking hemolysis if given rapidly.

  3. Question 3 of 4

    Which injectable preanesthetic agent must be protected from light and stored in its original amber packaging to prevent drug degradation?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: Diazepam

    Diazepam is photosensitive and degrades when exposed to light, so it must remain in its original amber glass vial or be shielded with foil if transferred to a syringe for later use. It also adsorbs to plastic, which is why glass syringes are preferred for prolonged storage. Propofol is light-stable but must be used within 6 hours of opening due to bacterial growth risk. Ketamine and dexmedetomidine are chemically stable in ambient light and do not require special light protection.

  4. Question 4 of 4

    Which of the following is the PRIMARY indication for administering an anticholinergic, such as glycopyrrolate, as part of a pre-anesthetic protocol?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: To reduce bradycardia associated with vagal tone or opioid administration

    Anticholinergics like glycopyrrolate and atropine block muscarinic receptors, preventing or treating bradycardia caused by increased vagal tone, opioid administration, or surgical manipulation of viscera (e.g., ocular or vagal reflexes). They provide no analgesic effect and are not reversal agents for alpha-2 agonists (atipamezole serves that role). While anticholinergics may be part of a premed combination, they do not reduce induction dose requirements the way opioids or alpha-2 agonists do.

What actually trips people up

Drug handling properties, not just drug actions

Diazepam is photosensitive, needs its amber vial or foil, and adsorbs to plastic, which is why glass syringes matter. Those are storage and handling facts rather than pharmacology facts, and pharmacy and pharmacology is 72 questions in our bank. Knowing what a drug does is not the same as knowing how to keep it usable.

Species-specific nursing, especially large animal

A 500 kg horse in prolonged lateral recumbency is a postanesthetic myopathy risk driven by its own body weight, and the answer is thick padding and periodic repositioning. Animal care and nursing is the largest domain in our bank at 96 questions, and the equine and large-animal items are the ones small-animal-trained candidates consistently miss.

Anticholinergics are asked for the indication, not the class

Glycopyrrolate is in a preanesthetic protocol to counter vagally mediated bradycardia, including bradycardia from opioids or from ocular and visceral manipulation. Anesthesia is 84 questions in our bank and the items reward knowing why a drug is in the protocol at all.

Imaging questions are about positioning conventions

A standard three-view thoracic series is both laterals plus a VD or DV, because the dependent lung partially collapses in each recumbency and can hide nodules. Diagnostic imaging is only 52 questions in our bank, but they are convention questions you either know or you do not.

Small domains, cheap points

AAVSB weights dentistry, emergency and critical care and pain management at 7% each, and diagnostic imaging at 6%. Our bank holds 46 to 84 questions in each. Treating them as rounding errors on a 150-item paper is tempting and wrong: most candidates skim them, so the points are cheap.

A five-week study plan

Five weeks suits a final-year veterinary technology student. Work by domain, and deliberately schedule the species and areas you have the least clinical exposure to.

Week 1: Animal care and nursing.

The largest domain in our bank at 96 questions. Patient assessment, catheterization, wound care and bandaging, restraint and medication routes, across species.

Week 2: Anesthesia and pharmacology.

Pre-anesthetic assessment through recovery, plus drug handling, dispensing and controlled-drug logs. Put the calculation practice here and keep it daily from now on, because setup is the part that decays between rotations.

Week 3: Surgical nursing and laboratory procedures.

Aseptic technique, sterile and circulating roles, instrument care and sterilization, then hematology, chemistry, urinalysis, cytology and parasitology.

Week 4: The small domains.

Dentistry, imaging, emergency and critical care, and pain management. Roughly 254 questions in our bank between them, and the ones most candidates under-prepare because they feel like rounding errors on a 150-item paper. They are not.

Week 5: Simulate, then close the gap.

Run the fixed-length 150-question timed simulation, review by category, and book when readiness holds across every category in our bank rather than in your clinical comfort zone. Read AAVSB’s own content outline for the communication and veterinary professional support services domain, because our bank does not cover it.

Is the VTNE hard?

The VTNE is broad rather than deep. AAVSB’s content outline runs to ten domains: pharmacy and pharmacology, surgical nursing, dentistry, laboratory procedures, animal care and nursing, diagnostic imaging, anesthesia, emergency medicine and critical care, pain management and analgesia, and communication and veterinary professional support services, across multiple species. A candidate who trained mostly in small animal practice will meet equine, exotic and production-animal content they’ve never handled.

Our bank puts 401 of 656 questions at difficulty 3 or 4, and 121 of them are numeric entry for dosing, fluid rate and CRI calculations, so the arithmetic is genuine rather than multiple choice in disguise. Three hours for 170 items is a little over a minute each, which is comfortable if you’re not stopping to reconstruct a calculation from first principles, and uncomfortable if you are.

The last piece is that AAVSB doesn’t publish a passing score on its public pages, so there’s no percentage to aim at and no way to calculate how many items you can afford to lose. That pushes the sensible target back to the same place as the CEN: even coverage, with no domain left amber, rather than a number.

How the VTNE differs from the exams beside it

The VTNE is the only exam in our health family where the patient can’t tell you anything, and the only one that spans multiple species. That produces question types nothing else here has: positioning conventions for radiographs, restraint and handling, controlled-drug logs, and dosing arithmetic that changes by an order of magnitude between a cat and a horse. Ten published domains also means the breadth problem is sharper here than on any other page in this slice, and unlike the CEN there’s no published passing score to tell you how much breadth is enough. The nearest comparison is the paramedic exam, and even that covers one species.

Questions people actually ask about the VTNE

How many questions are on the VTNE?

170 multiple-choice questions, of which 150 are scored. The other 20 are pilot questions used to build future examinations, and they don’t count toward your final score.

How long is the VTNE?

Three hours for 170 questions, which is a little over a minute each. That’s comfortable unless you’re rebuilding dosing calculations from first principles under the clock, which is exactly why the numeric entry practice is worth doing daily rather than in one block.

What score do you need to pass the VTNE?

AAVSB’s public VTNE pages state the exam length and item split but don’t state a passing score. Check the VTNE Candidate Information Handbook for current scoring, and don’t rely on numbers quoted elsewhere.

What subjects are on the VTNE?

AAVSB publishes a content outline with ten domains. By weight: animal care and nursing 20%, pharmacy and pharmacology 13%, surgical nursing 13%, anesthesia 13%, laboratory procedures 9%, dentistry 7%, emergency medicine and critical care 7%, pain management and analgesia 7%, diagnostic imaging 6%, communication and veterinary professional support services 5%. Our bank covers the first nine.

Is the VTNE hard?

It’s broad rather than deep, and that is the difficulty. Ten domains across multiple species means a student who trained mostly in small animal practice meets equine, exotic and production-animal content they have never handled. There is also no published passing score to aim at, so even coverage is the only sensible target.

How much of the VTNE is calculations?

Our bank ships 121 numeric entry questions covering dosage, fluid rates and constant rate infusions, so you type the answer rather than picking it. Practicing the setup daily is worth more than reviewing formulas.

How much does the VTNE cost?

AAVSB’s page for scheduling and taking the VTNE does not state the examination fee as an amount. The VTNE Candidate Information Handbook is where to confirm the current fee, along with eligibility and testing windows, and your state board may charge separately for the credential itself.

Are these real VTNE questions?

No. That would violate exam security rules. They’re original questions written to the domains and difficulty of the published content outline, each with a full explanation.

Practice another Health exam

Nursing, allied health & medical certifications. Every one of these pages is built the same way: sourced facts, an honest admission where the sponsor publishes nothing, and free practice questions.

The app

The VTNE app is still in development

The VTNE AAVSB Test Prep app ships 656 questions across nine of AAVSB’s ten domains, including 121 numeric entry items for dosing, fluid rate and CRI calculations, so you type the answer instead of recognizing it. Communication and veterinary professional support services, the 5% domain, is not in the bank yet. Smart Quiz targets the categories you keep missing, Topic Drill isolates one, and the Exam Simulator runs a fixed-length 150-question timed paper at the real scored length. A calculator is built in, an AI tutor explains any question in plain English, and progress tracking reports readiness per category, which matters more here than anywhere else in this slice because ten domains is a lot of places for a gap to hide. The app isn’t on the App Store yet; it’s in development. When it ships it will be free to start, with Premium for unlimited practice.

  • Smart Quiz — keeps returning to the categories you keep missing
  • Topic Drill — one category at a time, on its own
  • Exam Simulator — a fixed-length timed paper (150 questions in 180 minutes, as this app sets it). It does not get harder as you go; the length and the mix are fixed.
  • AI tutor — re-explains any question in plain English
  • Progress tracking, reported per category
  • On-screen calculator
  • Study reminders
  • Light and dark themes

The app calls you ready at 70% on its own simulator. That is an in-app practice target we chose, not AAVSB's passing standard.

Not on the App Store yet. This one is still in development, so there is nothing to download today. The practice questions above are the whole of what we can give you right now, and they are free and complete. See where it sits in the queue, or browse the apps that are live.

Nine domains in the bank. Ten on the exam.

Category-by-category drilling, genuine numeric entry calculations, and an AI tutor for the large-animal nursing you have not touched since second year. We say which domain we do not cover rather than rounding up. The app is in development; when it ships it will be free to start, with practice available without an account.

See the apps that are live

Sources, and when we last checked them

This page was last reviewed on . The 5 facts quoted above were last checked against their sources on . Where AAVSB publishes nothing, the table above says so rather than guessing.

VTNE is a program of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Neuron Trainer is an independent study app and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by AAVSB.