All AppsNeuron Trainer HealthNeuron Trainer TradesNeuron Trainer TechNeuron Trainer NextNeuron Trainer MotionStudy GuidesTechnologyRoadmapPricingReviewsAboutFAQFor OrganizationsSupportGet the Apps →
Free NCE practice · Health

NCE practice test: free questions and the six domains that actually carry it

The National Counselor Examination is 200 multiple-choice questions, 160 of them scored, with 225 minutes to complete it. There is no fixed passing percentage: NBCC sets the cut score with a modified Angoff method and equates each form, so the raw requirement moves with your version’s difficulty. Two domains carry 59% of the scored items.

Formally the National Counselor Examination. Awarding body: National Board for Certified Counselors. Neuron Trainer is an independent study app and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by the organization that owns this exam.

NCE at a glance, with the source for every line

Every row below is quoted from a document published by NBCC and carries the date we checked it. Where NBCC publishes nothing, the row says so instead of quoting a number from somewhere else.

Questions
200 multiple-choice questions, of which 160 are scored and 40 are unscored field-test items. Both kinds appear in jumbled order.Source: NBCC, NCE Content Outline, verified 7 August 2026
Time limit
225 minutes are allotted to complete the examination inside the total test session.Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
Highest possible score
Each scored question is worth one point, so the highest possible score is 160.Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
Passing score
There is no fixed percentage. The methodology used to determine the passing point is a modified Angoff method, in which the NCE Subject Matter Expert Committee evaluates each question to determine how many correct answers are necessary to demonstrate the required knowledge and skills.Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
Why the cut score moves
Passing scores may vary slightly for each version of the examination. A process of statistical equating determines the cut score for each version, adjusting the passing score up or down depending on the difficulty of the scored questions on that version.Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
What is on it
Six work-behavior domains: Counseling Skills and Interventions 30% (48 scored items), Areas of Clinical Focus 29% (47), Professional Practice and Ethics 12% (19), Intake, Assessment and Diagnosis 12% (19), Treatment Planning 9% (14), Core Counseling Attributes 8% (13).Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
Eligibility
The minimally qualified candidate has graduated from, or is a well-advanced graduate student in, a counseling program accredited by CACREP or housed within an institutionally accredited college or university.Source: NBCC, NCE Content Outline, verified 7 August 2026
Exam fee
Not published by NBCC. The NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure has a Fees and Refund Policy section that sets out how fees are paid and forfeited, but does not print the examination fee amount, and NBCC’s NCE page does not state it either.Checked against: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026
How long it is valid
Not published by NBCC. The NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure does not state how long a passing NCE result stays valid. The NCE is used for state licensure and as one of two examination options for the National Certified Counselor credential, and those terms are set separately.Checked against: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026

Always verify: the format, timing, domain weights and scoring described here come from NBCC’s own NCE Candidate Handbook and Content Outline, checked on the date shown above. Eligibility, fees, scheduling and score reporting come from NBCC and its administering partner, and your state licensing board may add its own requirements on top. Confirm both before you register.

What NBCC publishes as the official NCE blueprint

These weights are NBCC's, quoted from the source below. They are the only weights on this page that describe the real exam.

Published by NBCC and verified on 7 August 2026.
AreaWeight NBCC publishes
Counseling Skills and Interventions30% (48 scored items)
Areas of Clinical Focus29% (47 scored items)
Professional Practice and Ethics12% (19 scored items)
Intake, Assessment, and Diagnosis12% (19 scored items)
Treatment Planning9% (14 scored items)
Core Counseling Attributes8% (13 scored items)

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Source: NBCC, NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure, verified 7 August 2026.

What our NCE question bank covers

What this app's question bank covers — our own category shares across 650 questions, not NBCC's published blueprint.
CategoryQuestions in our bankShare of our bank
Professional Practice & Ethics
ACA Code of Ethics, scope of practice, professional identity
6510%
Social & Cultural Diversity
Multicultural competence, ADDRESSING, social justice
6510%
Human Growth & Development
Lifespan, attachment, Erikson, Piaget, Vygotsky
9114%
Career Development
Holland, Super, Krumboltz, assessment, transition
6510%
Counseling & Helping Relationships
Theories, techniques, therapeutic alliance, microskills
10416%
Group Counseling
Yalom factors, group stages, ethical considerations
6510%
Assessment & Testing
Reliability/validity, MMPI, Beck inventories, DSM-5-TR
7812%
Research & Program Evaluation
Quantitative/qualitative methods, statistics, program eval
528%
Diagnosis & Treatment
DSM-5-TR, case conceptualization, treatment planning
6510%

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Try it

4 questions from our NCE bank

Four questions from our NCE bank, covering assessment and testing, human growth and development, social and cultural diversity, and professional ethics.

NCE · Free practice Every answer explained. No signup, no email wall.
  1. Question 1 of 4

    A researcher correlates applicants' scores on a pre-employment aptitude test with their job performance ratings collected 12 months after hire. This procedure is designed to establish which type of validity?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: Predictive validity

    Predictive validity, a form of criterion-related validity, is established when test scores are correlated with a criterion measured at a future point in time, such as job performance a year later. Concurrent validity instead correlates test scores with a criterion measured at approximately the same time. Content validity concerns whether items adequately sample the domain being measured, and construct validity concerns whether a test measures the theoretical construct it claims to, neither of which involves a time-lagged criterion correlation.

  2. Question 2 of 4

    A 2-year-old insists on putting on her own shoes and becomes frustrated when a parent tries to help. According to Erikson, successful negotiation of this developmental stage results in which outcome?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: A sense of autonomy and self-control

    Erikson's second stage, autonomy vs. shame and doubt (roughly ages 18 months to 3 years), centers on toddlers asserting independence through self-care tasks like dressing and toileting. Support for age-appropriate independence fosters autonomy; excessive criticism or control fosters shame and doubt. Trust is the prior infancy-stage outcome, initiative/purpose emerges in the preschool stage (ages 3-6), and identity formation is the adolescent-stage achievement, making these options age-inappropriate for this scenario.

  3. Question 3 of 4

    A client mentions that prayer and consultation with her pastor are central to how she copes with grief. To ethically address this dimension of diversity, the counselor should be guided PRIMARILY by which set of competencies?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: ASERVIC Competencies for Addressing Spiritual and Religious Issues

    The Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling (ASERVIC) developed specific competencies guiding counselors on assessing and integrating clients' spiritual and religious frameworks into treatment, directly applicable here. The Multicultural and Social Justice Counseling Competencies (MSJCC) address broader cultural and power-related dynamics but are not spirituality-specific. CACREP assessment standards concern testing and evaluation methods, not spiritual integration. NBCC's dual relationship guidance addresses boundary issues, unrelated to spiritual competency.

  4. Question 4 of 4

    During the initial intake session, which element is a REQUIRED component of the professional disclosure statement per ACA ethical standards?
    Answer and explanation

    Correct answer: The counselor's qualifications, fee structure, and limits of confidentiality

    ACA Standard A.2.b requires the informed consent process, often formalized in a professional disclosure statement, to include the counselor's credentials and relevant experience, fees and billing arrangements, and the specific circumstances under which confidentiality may be limited or broken. A personal cell number and home address are not required disclosures and raise boundary concerns if provided routinely. A list of personal references is not a component of informed consent under the code; qualifications and confidentiality limits are the operative requirement.

What actually trips people up

The scored domains are not the eight CACREP areas you studied

Your coursework was organized by the eight CACREP content areas. The scored exam is organized by six work-behavior domains, and two of them, counseling skills and interventions at 30% and areas of clinical focus at 29%, carry 95 of the 160 scored items between them. Studying by course is how strong students end up under-prepared on nearly 60% of the paper.

Reliability and validity are asked as scenarios

A coefficient alpha of .88 from a single administration is internal consistency, not test-retest, which needs two administrations. Assessment and testing is 78 questions in our bank and almost all of them describe a procedure and ask which property it establishes, rather than asking for a definition.

Ethics questions test timing as much as substance

Limits of confidentiality are discussed at the beginning of the counseling relationship and revisited as circumstances change, not only when a client asks and not only when a report becomes likely. Professional practice and ethics is 12% of the scored exam, and the plausible-but-late option is the standard distractor.

Diversity items point at a specific competency document

When the material is spiritual or religious, the guiding framework is the ASERVIC competencies rather than the general multicultural ones. Social and cultural diversity is 65 questions in our bank, and knowing which document governs which dimension is what separates a confident answer from a coin flip.

Theorist attribution has to be exact

Erikson’s autonomy versus shame and doubt spans the toddler years, roughly the second and third year of life, and initiative versus guilt is the stage after it. Human growth and development is 91 questions in our bank, and the distractors are always adjacent stages by the same theorist, which is unforgiving if your recall is approximate.

A six-week study plan

Six weeks works for a final-semester student or a recent graduate. Map your study to the six scored domains rather than to your course list, because they are not the same shape.

Weeks 1 to 2: Counseling skills and clinical focus.

The two largest scored domains, 95 of the 160 scored items between them. Theories, techniques, the therapeutic alliance and microskills, worked as scenarios rather than definitions.

Week 3: Assessment, testing and diagnosis.

Reliability, validity, common instruments and DSM-5-TR. Practice identifying which psychometric property a described procedure establishes, because the items give you a method and an interval rather than a term to define.

Week 4: Ethics and diversity.

ACA standards with attention to timing, plus knowing which competency framework governs which dimension of difference.

Week 5: Development, career and groups.

Exact theorist attribution, which is where careless recall costs points. Holland, Super, Krumboltz, Erikson, Piaget and Yalom, with the stage boundaries stated precisely rather than approximately.

Week 6: Simulate.

Run the fixed-length 200-question timed simulation, which is the real exam length, then review every miss by domain before you book.

Is the NCE hard?

The NCE doesn’t have a fixed passing percentage. NBCC sets the cut score through a modified Angoff standard-setting process and then equates each form statistically, so a harder version carries a lower raw requirement. That means chasing a specific number is the wrong target, and consistency across the six scored domains is the right one.

The difficulty is distributional. Counseling skills and interventions plus areas of clinical focus are 59% of the scored items, while treatment planning and core counseling attributes together are 17%. Our bank puts 398 of 650 questions at difficulty 3 or 4, and every question is single answer, so the challenge is coverage and precise attribution rather than format.

The last thing that catches people is time. 225 minutes for 200 items is a little over 67 seconds each, and a scenario-heavy paper eats that quickly. Candidates who are used to untimed coursework assessments find that pacing, not content, is what they under-rehearsed, and the 40 unscored field-test items are scattered through the paper in jumbled order, so there is no section you can safely rush.

How the NCE differs from the exams beside it

The NCE and the CPCE share the same eight CACREP content areas, and they’re used for completely different purposes: the NCE is a national credentialing and licensure examination taken as you enter the profession, while the CPCE is a program-administered comprehensive examination that your university uses to assess its own students. The NCE is also longer, at 200 items with 160 scored against the CPCE’s 136 scored, and its scored structure is reorganized into six work-behavior domains rather than the eight equally sized areas the CPCE keeps. That reorganization is the single biggest reason the two need different study plans.

Questions people actually ask about the NCE

How many questions are on the NCE?

200 multiple-choice questions, of which 160 are scored and 40 are unscored field-test items. They appear in jumbled order, so treat every question as though it counts.

What score do you need to pass the NCE?

There’s no fixed percentage. NBCC sets a cut score with a modified Angoff method, then statistically equates each form so a harder version carries a lower raw requirement. The maximum possible score is 160.

How long is the National Counselor Examination?

NBCC allots 225 minutes to complete the examination inside the total test session. That’s a little over 67 seconds per question, which is tighter than it sounds on a scenario-heavy paper.

What is on the NCE?

Six scored work-behavior domains: counseling skills and interventions 30%, areas of clinical focus 29%, professional practice and ethics 12%, intake, assessment and diagnosis 12%, treatment planning 9%, and core counseling attributes 8%.

Is the NCE hard?

The content is familiar; the shape is not. Your coursework was organized by the eight CACREP areas and the scored exam is organized by six work-behavior domains, two of which carry 59% of the items between them. There is also no percentage to aim at, because NBCC equates every form.

How much does the NCE cost?

NBCC doesn’t print the amount. The NCE Candidate Handbook for State Licensure has a Fees and Refund Policy section setting out how fees are paid and forfeited, but no figure, and NBCC’s NCE page does not state one either. Confirm it with NBCC rather than a third-party page.

What is the difference between the NCE and the CPCE?

The NCE is a national credentialing and licensure exam with 160 scored items across six work-behavior domains. The CPCE is administered by your program as a comprehensive examination, with 136 scored items spread evenly across the eight CACREP areas.

Are these real NCE questions?

No. That would violate exam security rules. They’re original questions written to the same CACREP content areas and difficulty as the real exam, each with a full explanation.

Practice another Health exam

Nursing, allied health & medical certifications. Every one of these pages is built the same way: sourced facts, an honest admission where the sponsor publishes nothing, and free practice questions.

The app

Practice the NCE in the app

The NCE NBCC Practice Test app ships 650 questions across all eight CACREP content areas plus diagnosis and treatment, with an explanation on every one. Every question is single answer, like the real exam, so nothing in the format is a surprise. Smart Quiz adapts to your weakest area, Topic Drill isolates one, and the Exam Simulator runs a fixed-length 200-question timed paper at the real exam length, which is the only way to rehearse 67 seconds a question on scenario items. An AI tutor explains any question in plain English, and progress tracking reports readiness per area so you can map it onto the six scored domains. NCE NBCC Practice Test 2026 went live on the App Store on 8 August 2026, free to download. It has no ratings yet, so there is no star average to show you. It is free to start, with Premium for unlimited practice.

  • Smart Quiz — keeps returning to the categories you keep missing
  • Topic Drill — one category at a time, on its own
  • Exam Simulator — a fixed-length timed paper (200 questions in 225 minutes, as this app sets it). It does not get harder as you go; the length and the mix are fixed.
  • AI tutor — re-explains any question in plain English
  • Progress tracking, reported per category
  • Study reminders
  • Light and dark themes

The app calls you ready at 65% on its own simulator. That is an in-app practice target we chose, not NBCC's passing standard.

Get NCE NBCC Practice Test 2026 free on the App Store (opens in a new tab)

Listed on the App Store as NCE NBCC Practice Test 2026. Free to download; Premium unlocks the full bank and unlimited tutor explanations.

Study the exam, not your syllabus.

Drilling mapped to the CACREP areas, a 200-question timed simulation at the real exam length, and an AI tutor for the theorist attributions that have to be exact. Readiness is reported per area, so you can map it onto the six scored domains yourself. The app is on the App Store now, free to download, free to start, and you can practice without an account.

Download free on the App Store (opens in a new tab)

Sources, and when we last checked them

This page was last reviewed on . The 7 facts quoted above were last checked against their sources on . Where NBCC publishes nothing, the table above says so rather than guessing.

NCE and the National Counselor Examination are marks of the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC). Neuron Trainer is an independent study app and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by NBCC.